Day trip to Herefordshire… and a bottle of Oldfields Orchard Cider…

18 Dec

Today, I took a day trip to England, to the county of Herefordshire. I went to pick up three apple trees from a high quality apple tree grower, John Worle. I was very lucky as John offered to show me some of his nursery fields. One field contained 200,000 trees.

On the way home, I visited the Cider Museum in Hereford City. The Cider Museum has the widest selection of ciders, I have ever seen. I was keen to pick up a few bottles of local good quality cider. I bought 14 different bottles of cider from the vast array and I am excited about tasting them over the few weeks or so.

On arrival home, I decided the best reward was to open a bottle. I chose Oldfields Orchard Medium Dry Cider. The bottle (below) has a lovely illustration on the front and a nice story of a tipsy wasp on the back. It includes good cider apple varieties: Dabinett, Harry Masters Jersey and Yarlington Mill.

Interestingly, the phrase “real cider” is missing. The cider is quite modest in alcohol at just 4.8% which I think suggests that it’s been diluted with water. Looking at the website, the makers give some great detail about how their cider is made. The website say that they “test various blends to come up with our final ‘recipe’ which would decide sweetness or dryness, desired alcoholic content and flavour. The raw cider from each tank was then blended with water, our own apple juice, sugar and SO2”.

The cider is lightly sparkling and gives a scent resulting from the inclusion of good quality cider apples. It’s light on the palate with a light taste of tannins too. It’s pleasant and I like the relatively low alcohol of 4.8%. The flavour is very clean and my wife enjoyed her share. However, I would prefer more flavour in my cider than is apparent in this bottle – either of apples or tannins. As a light, lower alcohol cider, it’s a good choice.

Front of Bottle

Front of Bottle

Back of bottle

Back of bottle

 

Leave a Reply

