Gift Loaves for Sourdough September…

29 Sep

Today, I have distributed the last three loaves of sourdough bread to celebrate Sourdough September. In all, over the weekend, I baked twenty seven loaves of sourdough bread. Twenty one of these were distributed to friends, neighbours and colleagues. The other six were eaten or put in the freezer for my own family 🙂

I also used my brick oven for the first time to bake loaves. It wasn’t entirely successful as I didn’t get the oven hot enough. Still learning!

I made two different types of loaf:

  1. My standard sourdough – 10% brown 90% white Belchedre Flour – to this recipe.
  2. A rye fruit sourdough – I learned to make this on my first bread making course with Alex Gooch.

Here are a few pictures:

 

Two sourdough loaves

Two lovely loaves – nice oven spring and opened beautifully.

Rye sourdough

Small and large rye fruit sourdough

First eight loaves baked in the brick oven (but finished off with electric….)

To be honest, I’m a bit tired of baking today. Well, I have a whole weekend of real work to keep me busy 😉

 

One Response to “Gift Loaves for Sourdough September…”

  1. Kimberly October 3, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    Wow, that’s what I call dedication to a hobby! A true passion. 27 loaves of bread. I love the brick oven idea. I’ve never used one. I love it, Paul.

Leave a Reply

