Longueville House Cider from Mallow, Co Cork

5 Sep

20140905-222309.jpg

Tonight, I am enjoying a bottle of cider produced in Co. Cork in Ireland.

This is a probably a cider makers cider. According to the bottle, it’s made from Dabinett and Michelin apples. These are two proper cider making apple types. According to John Worle, a well respected apple tree grower, both apples are bittersweet apples. The bitterness reflects the presence of tannins. Tannins give the cider structure. You can smell the tannins in this cider and you can certainly taste the tannins. They fill the mouth and last after the cider is swallowed. My personal taste would be for just a little less tannins in my cider so I would characterize this as a tannic cider.

It’s also cloudy. This shouldn’t come as a surprise. It says on the back of the bottle that it’s cloudy. I don’t always read the back of the bottle before I open it but I do usually read it :-). I do kind of think that ‘better’ cider should be clear. This bottle is an example that cider clarity isn’t essential for a good drink.

All in all Longueville House Cider tastes like a well made and interesting cider. Probably best consumed with food which softens the tannins on the palate, I think. I recommend it.

Sparking
5% vol
500ml
www.longuevillehouse.ie

Leave a Reply

