My first bread-making course…

14 Jul

On Saturday, I attended my first bread making course – ‘Sourdough with Heritage Grains with Alex Gooch” at Humble by Nature. It was a very interesting day – learning about baking from a passionate, knowledgable and experienced baker.

photo (4)

Alex Gooch and some spelt flour

We learned about various grains:

  • Rye – both light and white
  • Spelt
  • Khorasan
  • Einkorn

Alex seems to be actively involved in baking with unusual and newly grown grains through his links with growers and a ‘grain pathologist’.

During the day we made three different breads:

  • A rye sourdough
  • A dark and white sourdough made with spelt and khorasan
  • A flatbread made from spelt, einkorn with roast garlic and rosemary

I liked all the breads but my favourite was the rye sourdough. We made a very tasty bread with light rye flour. We added raisins, black treacle and my favourite ingredient – roasted coriander seeds. The roasted coriander seeds were also added to the sides of the tin and the top of the bread and tasted delicious. This bread seems like it has a lot of possible variations. I hope this can become part of my baking repertoire.

Rye sourdough proving in the tins

Rye sourdough proving in the tins

Baked loaves of rye sourdough

Baked loaves of rye sourdough

Alex was free with his advice, answered many questions and was every the professional baker. He also had a very impressive container of dark rye starter 🙂

The quote of the day was “black is flavour”.
A heartfelt thanks to Alex for the day.

The selection of goodies I brought home from the course

The selection of goodies I brought home from the course

One Response to “My first bread-making course…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gift Loaves for Sourdough September… | Paul Brennan's Life in Cardiff - September 29, 2014

    […] rye fruit sourdough – I learned to make this on my first bread making course with Alex […]

Leave a Reply

