Talking about bread with five year olds…

9 Feb

The highlight of my week was a visit to Year 1, with three different kinds of bread. I brought a loaf of sourdough, some focaccia and a milk loaf. We talked about the key ingredients of bread – flour, water, salt and yeast and then tasted some bread. To sweeten the deal, I put chocolate spread on the sourdough and jam on the milk loaf. I asked which they liked the best – not really a fair comparison. Many of them liked all three.

The funniest thing about the whole event was that I completely overestimated how much information I would be able to communicate. I only had  a thirty minutes to chat with ten or fifteen five year olds. Back to fundamentals of teaching – remember your audience. In fairness, I don’t have much experience with this kind of audience, just my daughter. Chatting with one child and fifteen is very different. The lesson for me is to keep it really simple – one message. I realised this on the fly. My message was to learn the essentials for bread – flour, water, salt and yeast. Then taste and enjoy some fresh bread. An excellent plan for thirty minutes 🙂

 

Image

Leave a Reply

